United Visual About Us
Contact Us
Whats Hot
Site Map

What is Dolby® Digital?

DTV audio

Dolby Digital provides 6 channels for your surround sound system

Dolby® Digital (AC-3, 5.1) is the audio standard for DTV. It has 6 separate digital audio signals, one for each speaker: front left, front right, and front center; rear left and rear right, and (in a corner) a subwoofer. This audio signal is capable of providing an outstanding surround sound experience.

This DTV tip is reproduced from "The ABCs of DTV" with the permission of Sharp Electronics. Copyright 1998 Sharp Electronics Corporation.

more tech tips